ॐ नमः शिवाय।

लिंग Ling a sanskrit word which literally means the source of creation. Don’t confuse it with organ of procreation. For example, to create fire if we use wood then we say that the linga of fire is wood and if the fire is created by oil then we say that the ling of fire is oil.Similarly, if we produce electricity using water turbines then we say that the Linga (the source of creation) is water, if produced using fire then it’s Linga is fire.

Everything in this creation has a Linga (a source of creation). If I were to ask you what is the Linga of air?

What is the Linga of water? I know the chemical composition of water but how is water created? No human in history or present has been able to produce even a drop of water in existence. Water already exists, we merely use it, utilise it and analyse it. This is our total knowledge of water. I also know that water exists in different forms and I know by changing temperature using fire I can change the state of water to ice or steam but I cannot in any way create even a single drop out of nothing.

Shiva is not a person who is living somewhere in this creation. Shiva is the ultimate expression / state / manifestation of consciousness which has no further divisibility, he is the Shoonya, the state which people call Samadhi, becoming one with the supreme state of consciousness.

A non-existent existence. Existence beyond names and forms.

Shiva is neither a he nor she. Shiva is beyond gender. Assigning a gender to Shiva is like assigning a gender to Sunlight. Sunlight is neither male nor female, its pure light. But for our convenience to discuss and understand Shiva I’m assuming Shiva as a personality.

Just like in mathematics when we have to solve an equation to find an unknown value, we assume it to be x, y or z. Here we know the value i.e. Shiva. Now, all we have to do is to find out how to get to this value which we define as Shiva.

In numbers, Shiva represents the prime numbers.

Still confused?

निराकारमोङ्करमूलं तुरीयं
गिराज्ञानगोतीतमीशं गिरीशम् ।
करालं महाकालकालं कृपालं
गुणागारसंसारपारं नतोऽहम् ॥ (Sri Rudrashtakam)


Who is Formless and the very Root from where the Sacred Omkara arises; Who Abides in the state of Turiya (the fourth state in which Brahman is experienced in meditation)

He is the Lord Who is Beyond the Knowledge which Speech can express and Beyond the Perception which Sense Organs can perceive; He is Girisha (another name of Sri Shiva literally meaning the Lord of the Mountains)

Taking the Terrible form of Mahakala He can tear apart Kala (Time) himself; at the same time He is an embodiment of Compassion to His devotees,

I Bow down to Him Who helps in Crossing this Samsara (delusion of worldly existence) which is like a Dwelling Place made of Gunas.

Journey of Jivātman

According to the Vedas, there are 8.4 million species of life and the conditioned soul is continuously passing through the different species according to his karma, under divine supervision. The Bhagavad Gita (2.22) says that just as one gives up an old shirt to put on a new one, the soul gives up an old body to acquire a new kind of body (vasāmsi jirnāni yathā vihāya). Thus there are 8.4 million (84 lakh) types of bodies, out of which the soul assumes a body at the time of death.

Padma Purana states that 8.4 million species of life are divided into six groups, namely aquatics, trees, insects, birds, animals and humans.

  • 900,000 – Aquatic Species
  • 2,000,000 – Trees Species
  • 1,100,000 – Insects Species
  • 1,000,000 – Birds Species
  • 3,000,000 – Animals Species
  • 400,000 – Human Species

On planet Earth we are just one out of 400,000 human species in creation. According to Puranas there are humans with four and eight arms and so powerful that they can lift mountains with bare hands. There is also description of some humans with intelligence beyond comprehension.

Based on the Karmas accumulated by the atman, a body is prepared to be occupied by the atman for limited Kaala chakras (cycle of time) and will continue to wander in 8.4 million species in different Lokas (there are 14 Lokas) till the consciousness itself chooses to release itself from the cycle of Karma, which we know as Moksha.

Moksha means liberation from the eternal cycle of birth and death.

Those who strive to attain Moksha follow the path of Yoga. Not the bending of bodies, that is mere Asana. If bending of bodies was Yoga then all the Olympic gymnasts would have been an enlightened Buddha. The path of Yoga is divided into four categories:

  1. Bhakti Yoga – The path of devotion
  2. Jnana Yoga – The path of inquiring Brahman
  3. Karma Yoga – The path of self-less action
  4. Raja Yoga – The path of Mysticism
    • Ashtanga Yoga
    • Hatha Yoga (Not considered part of Raja Yoga though it has many kriyas of Raja yoga incorporated into it.)
    • Kriya Yoga

Those who follow the path of Yoga are called Yogis.

Shiva Rishikesh
  • Shiva is Vairāgi (one who has renounced everything)
  • Shiva is the Ādi Yogi (the first Yogi).
  • Shiva is the Mahā Yogi (who possess all mystical powers beyond anyones comprehension).
  • Shiva is also known as Baidyanath (master of medicine).
  • Shiva is Trigunateet (beyond the influence of three gunas Rajas, Tamas and Sattva)

Therefore, all other Yogis and Rishis worship and bow to Shiva.

Who am I?

न मृत्युर्न शङ्का न मे जातिभेदः
पिता नैव मे नैव माता न जन्मः ।
न बन्धुर्न मित्रं गुरुर्नैव शिष्यं
चिदानन्दरूपः शिवोऽहम् शिवोऽहम् ॥ (Nirvana Shatakam by Adi Shankara)


Neither am I bound by Death and its Fear, nor by the rules of Caste and its Distinctions,
Neither do I have Father and Mother, nor do I have Birth,
Neither do I have Relations nor Friends, neither Spiritual Teacher nor Disciple,
I am the Ever Pure Blissful Consciousness; I am Shiva, I am Shiva,
The Ever Pure Blissful Consciousness.

I am not the body, I’m consciousness which is occupying the body. Without the consciousness, the body is a mere dead body. I can only act as long as there is consciousness in my body.

The procreation can only take place as long as consciousness is occupying the body. The organ of procreation is a mere tool and a body can procreate only as long as it is alive and conscious. A sleeping person cannot procreate. He has to be awake and conscious.

This consciousness is known and worshipped as Shiv Linga. It is called the Jyoti (life giving force) of life.

Shiva is the one who has become one with his consciousness or Brahman.

चिदानन्दरूपः शिवोऽहम् शिवोऽहम् ॥

I am the Ever Pure Blissful Consciousness; I am Shiva, I am Shiva,
The Ever Pure Blissful Consciousness.

%d bloggers like this: